Skip to content
English
  • There are no suggestions because the search field is empty.

Course Management - Manage Sections

Accessing Manage Sections

  1. Log in to your Hawkes Teach Account and open your course from the Instructor Dashboard.

  2. Go to Course Management > Manage Sections.

Adding a Section

  1. In the top-right, select Add Section.

    Manage Sections buttons: Actions, Copy Section, and Add Section. An arrow points to Add Section.

  2. Enter your section name, start date, end date, meeting times (optional), and your desired visibility.

    Shown: Available to instructors and students.
    Hidden: Not shown to students, but accessible to instructors.
    Inactive: Not shown to either. (Section will still be visible in Manage Sections.)

    Add Section form with fields for Name, Start Date, End Date, Meeting Times (optional), and Visibility, plus Save and Add Another and Save buttons.

  3. Select Save to return to the section list or Save and Add Another to add additional sections.

Editing an Existing Section

  1. In your section list, hover the mouse over text you want to update. The row will change color to blue and the cells that can be edited will be a lighter blue.

  2. Select the cell you want to edit (section name, start date, end date, or meeting times).

    Manage Sections table with the Name cell for Hawkes Section 1 open for editing.

  3. Edit the field, then move out of it to save your changes automatically.

  4. To change section visibility, select the drop-down under the Visibility column and select the new option.

    Shown: Available to instructors and students.
    Hidden: Not shown to students, but accessible to instructors.
    Inactive: Not shown to either. (Section will still be visible in Manage Sections.)

Visibility drop-down open in the section list, showing Shown, Hidden, and Inactive.

Using Advanced Settings

  1. Select the checkbox next to the section you want to edit.

  2. Select Actions, then Advanced Settings.

    Manage Sections page with the checkbox for section MAT 100-01 selected. Arrows point to the checkbox and the Actions button; the Actions menu is open with Advanced Settings highlighted.

  3. Update any Advanced Settings as needed. Select Submit once done.

Advanced Section Settings window with checkboxes for not accepting work before the start date or after the end date (Lessons and Tests), zeroing out scores after the end date, and hiding section details from students, plus Lessons Due time, Time Zone, and a Submit button.

Using Configure Sections

Instructors can configure sections to match the settings, assignments, and policies from sections that have already been set up.

  1. Select the checkbox next to the section(s) you want to configure.

  2. Select Actions, then Configure Sections.

    Manage Sections page with the checkbox for section MAT 100-01 selected. Arrows point to the checkbox and the Actions button; the Actions menu is open with Configure Sections highlighted.

  3. Select the Apply From dropdown menu to select the master section you would like to get settings, assignments, and policies from.

  4. Confirm the sections in the Apply To dropdown are accurate.

    All sections selected in step 1 will show as checked in the dropdown.
    Additional sections can be added by checking the box next to the section name in the dropdown.
    Sections can be removed by unchecking the box next to the section name in the dropdown.

    Configure Sections window with Apply From and Apply To drop-downs, expandable Basic, Advanced, Content, and Policies groups, and an Apply Settings button.

  5. Instructors can pick and choose what Basic and Advanced settings to apply from the master section. The target section(s) will, by default, get all assignments and policies applied to it.

  6. When finished, select Apply Settings.

Remove LMS Links

If you have any sections in your course that are linked to an external LMS course, an LMS Links column will display in your list of sections and LMS links can be removed if needed.

  1. Select the checkbox next to the section(s) you want to remove links for.

  2. Select Actions, then Remove LMS Links.

  3. A confirmation window will appear listing the name of the section(s) that will be removed from the LMS course.

  4. Select Continue to remove links.

Deleting a Section

  1. Select the checkbox next to the section or sections you want to delete.

  2. Select Actions, then Delete.

  3. A confirmation window will appear listing the name of the section(s) that will be deleted. Select Continue.

    Note: A CSV export of the student grades associated with the deleted section(s) will automatically download to your web browser for record keeping.

Manage Sections Frequently Asked Questions

Will Course Administrators still be able to see the sections of their instructors?

Yes! The Manage Sections page makes it easy for admins to find and view the sections they are looking for.

Why don’t I always see the same columns in the table?

The table is “smart” and only shows the user information that applies to their sections. All users will see Name, Start Date, End Date, Meeting Times, and Visibility.
If a user is associated with sections that have owners other than themselves, then the “Owner” column will display.
If a user is associated with sections that have LMS Links, then the LMS Links column will display.
If a user is associated with sections that have multiple facilitators on a section, then the “Facilitators” column will display.

Do I need to set my section’s Advanced Settings every time I create a section?

No! These are settings pre-set by Hawkes that reflect the best practices we recommend for instructors’ sections.

What does “LMS Link” mean? What does it mean to “Remove an LMS Link”?

An LMS Link is a connection between your external LMS and your Hawkes section. These Links may need to be broken as a new semester starts if you want students to be able to enroll in the new LMS course. Once the Link is removed, the association between Hawkes section and LMS course is removed.

Why isn’t there a save button?

Saving happens automatically when you add a section or edit section settings.

What happens if I accidentally delete everything in a cell on the table?

If you delete all of the text out of one of the cells on the table without entering any new text, then move away from the cell by clicking or tabbing somewhere else, the previously entered text will show back up.